We Own the Night
First screened in October 2007
Click Here for the Top 100 Films of the 00s
Director: James Gray. Cast: Joaquin Phoenix, Mark Wahlberg, Eva Mendes, Robert Duvall, Alex Veadov, Danny Hoch, Antoni Corone, Moni Moshonov, Oleg Taktarov, Tony Musante, Dominic Colon, Yelena Solovey, Maggie Kiley, Ed Koch. Screenplay: James Gray.

Twitter Capsule: Expert use of image, cutting, and sound in character-rich genre piece with exciting twists and chases. Beat that!

VOR:   "Original" maybe a stretch. But who else infuses pop genres with such melancholy texture and narrative tension? Equal parts 30s Warner Bros. and up-to-date, mini-major prestige.

Photo © 2007 Columbia Pictures

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: A–

Permalink Home 2007 ABC Blog E-Mail