The Seagull
First screened in May 2018
Director: Michael Mayer. Cast: Annette Bening, Billy Howle, Saoirse Ronan, Corey Still, Jon Tenney, Elisabeth Moss, Brian Dennehy, Michael Zegen, Mare Winningham, Glenn Fleshler, Ben Thompson, Barbara Tirrell, Thomas Hettrick, Paul Krisikos. Screenplay: Stephen Karam (based on the play by Anton Chekhov).

Twitter Capsule: Fitful with promise, especially from Stoll and Bening. Edits veer from supple to crazed. Problems grow toward the end.

VOR:   Malle aside, the hurdles against realizing Chekhov onscreen remain formidable—and adapting him memorably is even harder than adapting him well!

Photo © 2018 Sony Pictures Classics

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: C–

Permalink Home 2018 ABC Blog E-Mail